CURE NY Interview with Gunna of Feloni Rekords (An independent record label started in 2008, in Rochester, NY).

Feloni Rekords prides itself in:
• Assisting people upon re-entering society ;
• Giving people a second chance;
• Recognizing the stigma associated with a felony conviction.

Q: What is the concept behind the name?

After serving a prison sentence, the majority of society stigmatizes people returning to their communities. The criminal justice system across the United States disproportionately affects people of color. Mass incarceration is destroying minority communities. We strive at Feloni Rekords to assist our returning brothers and sisters and recognize their worth and talent.

Q: Why is helping people who were incarcerated important to you?

After I watched so many of my family and friends come home from prison struggle to put food on their tables, I decided to start Feloni Rekords. The concept included the idea people who served time have a story to tell. So many people languish behind bars for sometimes decades and those very people go unrecognized and their talent is never discovered.

Q: Who is Gunna?

I grew up in the Bronx, At 13 years-old, when I was at a house party someone who didn’t want to get searched shot up the party. I got shot in my stomach and almost died. I dropped out of school when I was in the tenth grade and had my first kid at 18. I lived the lifestyle. I spent some time in the system at Rikers Island. In 2006, I realized I wasn’t getting anywhere with what I was doing so I turned my life around. I started working and going to school where I got my GED. I started my label. I like helping people. It makes me feel great that I can help make a difference in people’s lives and in my community.

Q: How does someone start the process of being down with Feloni Rekords?

We’re in the process of getting a line that will accept collect calls and establishing a mailing address.

** In the meantime, CURE NY can forward any mail to Gunna.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

